movt nr. 9: Holland Mijn Mars

Commissioned by: Wendelien van Oldenborgh & Lucy Cotter for Cinema Olanda Platform at Witte de With.

Costume design by: Marga Weimans

Witte de With transformed into an adaptable platform for groups and individuals who have informed Cinema Olanda, artist Wendelien van Oldenborgh and curator Lucy Cotter’s presentation in the Dutch pavilion of the 57th Venice Biennale 2017.

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_6_Aad Hoogendoorn

 

As part of Charl Landvreugd’s (Artist, Curator, Writer) program Holland Mijn Mars (17th – 23rd July 2017) the artist worked throughout the week in the exhibition spaces of Cinema Olanda: Platform to develop an installation based on four filmic stories from Suriname, Haïti, Quebec and the Netherlands.

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_8_Aad Hoogendoorn

This culminated into a new performance by Landvreugd that views migration across the axis of sexuality. The costume is designed by fashion designer Marga Weimans.

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_9_Aad Hoogendoorn

The first story that makes up the basis for this installation and performance is Kon Hesi Baka (1976) by Henk Barnard, which deals with migration from the perspective of a young girl in Suriname around the time of the country’s independence. The second is Koewatra Djodjo (1979) by Edgar Cairo, which gives an insight into a young man’s arrival in the city. How to make love to a negro without getting tired (1987) by Dany Laferrière speaks about trying to settle in the metropolis. Wan Pipel (1976) by Pim de la Parra delves into disillusionment, loyalty and belonging. The combined texts create a narrative of migration, and show the timelessness of the subject.

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_10_Aad Hoogendoorn

 

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_11_Aad Hoogendoorn

In een kostuum van Marga Weimans betreedt Charl Landvreugd de ruimte waarin hij een installatie heeft gemaakt met verschillende tv-schermen, een projectie en verrijdbare wanden. Terwijl hij door de ruimte beweegt, loopt hij af en toe naar een LP-speler en versterker en past hij de muziek aan. Er worden herkenbare nummers gespeeld, maar steeds ligt er een soort laag, een ruis, overheen. Soms overheerst de muziek, dan de ruis, die soms bestaat uit dialogen uit een film of documentaire. Langzaam verrijdt Landvreugd de gekleurde wanden uit de ruimte richting de projectie op de muur waardoor die gefragmenteerd over de verschillende wanden valt. De projectie toont een man op de boeg van een schip, hij draagt een cape en een zwart masker. Gedurende de performance wisselt Landvreugd van kostuum, zijn gezicht nooit helemaal zichtbaar. Hij eindigt in een lang gewaad en met hetzelfde masker als de man op de boeg van het schip. Dan verlaat hij de ruimte. (source Mondriaan Fund)

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_12_Aad Hoogendoorn
Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_13_Aad Hoogendoorn

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_14_Aad Hoogendoorn

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_15_Aad Hoogendoorn

Wendelien van Oldenborgh made a film of the performance which is viewable on request.

Charl Landvreugd_Holland Mijn Mars_16_Aad Hoogendoorn

all images (c) Aad Hoogendoorn for Witte de With

Leave a Reply

